jump to navigation

A Celebration of Friendship February 19, 2009

Posted by bookgoddess in Books, Fiction, library programs, Reading, Reading lists, The Latest and the Greatest, West Palm Beach Public Library.
Tags:
trackback

We had a good discussion today at The Latest and Greatest – our topic was A Celebration of Friendship.  It’s not surprising that many wonderful books have been written on the theme of friendship.  Of all our important relationships, friendships are the ones we get to choose.  I have been more fortunate than I can say to have made some of my very best friends among my book club participants and my library colleagues.

I’m going to let the reading list speak for itself (here’s the link), but I should mention a few titles that my book-loving friends reminded me about:

Christina recommended Little Woman by Louisa May Alcott.  This is one of my all-time favorites, too.  I read it multiple times in my childhood, and in recent times had the pleasure of visiting the Alcott home.  Christina also recommended Leaving Cecil Street by Diane McKinney-Whetstone.

Other recommendations were The Tender Bar, a memoir by J. R. Moehringer (Lois); A Red Bird Christmas by Fannie Flagg (Marsha); and The Women of Brewster Place by Gloria Naylor (Claudia).  All great suggestions, and I would love to hear yours, too!

Happy Reading!

The Book Goddess

Comments»

1. Diane Wallace - April 23, 2009

I loved Snow Flower and the Secret Fan ( how do you underline or italicize books on here) for the friendship and understanding between the 2 women. Wonderful book!


Leave a Reply

