jump to navigation

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn February 2, 2009

Posted by bookgoddess in Book Clubs, Books, library programs, Reading, Second Saturday Book Club, West Palm Beach Public Library.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I’m slightly apprehensive when I decide to re-read a much loved book from childhood.  Perhaps it won’t live up to my memories, or I’ll look back on my youthful taste in horror. 

As far as I can recall, this has never actually happened.  Maybe the books that live on for us really are classics.  This proved to be the case with my recent re-reading of A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith.  I’m not even sure what made me suggest it for the February selection for the Second Saturday Book Club.  But I’m happy to report that I was simply enchanted, and I hope the other book club members will be, too.  The story of Francie Nolan, child of Brooklyn and of poverty, but also of her dreams and aspirations, and the love of her family, was just as moving and enthralling as I found it several decades ago. 

I urge you to read this book, again or for the first time.  Among other things, it is a remarkable portrayal of life in the tenements of Brooklyn a hundred years ago.  More importantly, it is a universal tale of growing up, of learning to love, and learning to leave.  It will leave you with the greatest admiration for those who overcome this level of adversity.  It may even put our current economic crisis in some sort of perspective. 

Happy reading! 

The Book Goddess

P.S.  We’ll be discussing A Tree Grows in Brooklyn at the Second Saturday Book Club at the downtown West Palm Beach Public Library on Saturday, February 14th at 10:30 a.m.  You have plenty of time to read the book, so please join us!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

