jump to navigation

Well Worn Books January 28, 2009

Posted by bookgoddess in Books, Public libraries, readers, Reading, West Palm Beach Public Library.
Tags:
trackback

I just dropped some books in the book return.  I had to wait a few moments for the man in front of me.  When he realized I was behind him, he apologized and turned to me with a book in his hand, saying what a great book it was and how much he had enjoyed it.

This is always good news to me, but I was particularly struck by it this time.  It was a book from the music section, and it was far from attractive – plainly bound and worn with time and use.  But because the man was interested in the topic and moved by its contents, he could see beyond that.

I do love it when the new books arrive – bright, shiny, and full of possibility.  But the ones that have the reader’s seal of approval…well…you just might want to take a closer look. 

Happy Reading!

The Book Goddess

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

