jump to navigation

Before You Do Your Holiday Shopping… November 6, 2008

Posted by bookgoddess in Books.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Now that the election is over, some of you will be turning your minds to the upcoming holidays.  Who will bring the sweet potatoes?  Will the dining room table seat everyone?  Will Uncle Oscar behave himself this year? 

And many of you will be shopping.  There are an infinite number of objects that one might buy, but I’d like to suggest you consider buying books as holiday gifts.  There are a number of reasons, not the least of which is supporting the publishing industry and your local bookstore, and they could certainly use the help. 

But more important are the memories you might be creating.  My mother used to give me the latest Agatha Christie every Christmas.  When I turned 16, my aunt gave me books of poetry by Emily Dickinson and Sara Teasdale.  My oldest friend still uses the Gourmet Cookbook I gave her as a wedding present. 

Yes, you will have to put more thought into this than a gift certificate.  But when you get it right, it’s a really wonderful connection with the recipient. 

So wander into that bookstore with your list in hand and see what materializes.  And be sure to pick up something for yourself! 

Happy Reading and Shopping, 

The Book Goddess

P.S.  Have you ever received a wonderful book as a gift?  I would love to hear about it!

Comments»

1. Marsha - November 18, 2008

I remember fondly a picture book given to me by a family friend when I was young. It had beautiful illustrations of children from countries around the world. I had my mother read it over and over again. I think it gave me an appreciation and enthusiasm for different cultures which I still have. In fifth grade our family moved from California to Pennsylvania. My mother bought me a book to read for the long car ride. It was about a teenage girl who was starting a new school. Her fears about making friends echoed my own. Of course, since it was in the fifties, the story ended happily. I also remember a book my mother gave me for Christmas when I was in sixth grade. She did not read it before she gave it to me so she did not know that it had some sex scenes in it! I did not tell her until years later.


Leave a Reply

