jump to navigation

What to Read – Now that You’ve Finished Harry Potter…. August 2, 2007

Posted by bookgoddess in Reading.
trackback

It’s always hard when a long-term relationship ends.  I know how much you love Harry, and Hogwarts, and all of Harry’s friends.  Yes, you can still visit, but at some point you’re going to have to make some new literary friends.

Well, my top pick would be the Philip Pullman trilogy, His Dark Materials, which begins with The Golden Compass.  The world of the orphan Lyra and her friends is a marvelous creation.  Like Harry’s world, it is both like and unlike our own.  And there are great conflicts between good and evil, and magical beings, and the initiation of a young person into her destiny.

Of course, I’m a great girl for the classics, too, so if by some chance you missed reading the Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis, I’d suggest you remedy that omission.  I know it’s generally seen as a children’s book, but I read it in one enchanted week in my late twenties.  (And do I need to mention The Lord of the Rings by Lewis’s friend J.R.R. Tolkien?)

So – what are you reading now?

All the best, 

Tina Maura Albee

The Book Goddess

Comments»

1. Marc Charles - August 3, 2007

Hi Tina,

I don’t really think that we are finished with Harry Potter just yet. I’ve recently seen Jo in an interview where she spoke about creating an encyclopedia of the Wizarding World. Although she said that she would not be writing it for a while this encyclopedia would explain a lot of mysteries of the books. Additionally it would give us insight and details that Jo was suggested to leave out of the books by editors/publishers. What I believe the encyclopedia will do is add closure in other areas of the Wizarding World by telling what happened to the characters after the end of the book (because we all really need to know if Luna Lovegood ever found those).

2. lisa - August 6, 2007

I agree Marc! I really need to know more about the characters’ lives that she did not discuss in the final chapter… I for one was disappointed not to hear about Luna’s adult-life, let alone Mr. Longbottom!!!

3. Anton Soeharyo - August 17, 2007

I agree with you! its a great book, but too bad it ends…I feel so empty putting it down after so many years waiting for it…


Leave a Reply

