jump to navigation

Dance Hall of the Dead by Tony Hillerman July 27, 2007

Posted by bookgoddess in Authors, Authors You Shouldn't Miss, Books, Fiction, library programs, Mysteries, readers, Reading.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Have you read any of the Tony Hillerman mysteries set in Navajo country?  I’ve read all of them, and I just recently re-read Dance Hall of the Dead, which is this month’s selection for the “Just for Mystery Lovers” Book Club here at the Library (Saturday, July 28th, 2007 at 10:30 a.m.).

I find these books utterly absorbing, and I have from the first one that I “read.”  That was Sacred Clowns, which I listened to on audio a number of years ago.  I think audio is especially good when you are first encountering names and words in a new language, so you know their proper pronunciation.  The narrator, George Guidall, continues to be my favorite reader.

Anyway, I was on a trip to north Florida, and put those tapes of Sacred Clowns into my tape player.  This was also my first audiobook experience, and I was totally enchanted.  As they say, the miles just flew by.

And as they flew, I was drawn not only into a terrific mystery, but also learned a lot about the Navajo people.  Fiction is a fabulous way to learn about other cultures, and Hillerman is truly knowledgeable.  In fact, he has been named an official “Friend of the Navajo” for his sensitive portrayal of the Navajo Nation.

So – I would highly recommend both Tony Hillerman and “reading” via audiobooks.

What are you reading now?

Tina Maura Albee

The Book Goddess

Comments»

1. Lou - September 20, 2007

I have read all but the last two of Tony Hillerman’s Books. (Skeleton Man and Shape Shifters) I really enjoy his writing style. Do you know of any other author that writes like Hillerman? If so, I would be interested in hearing your suggestions. I will be searching your web site for other good reading suggestions. Thanks for the website and good information.

2. bookgoddess - September 20, 2007

Hi Lou –

Thanks for your comment. Here is a link to a good reading list for Tony Hillerman fans: http://www.overbooked.org/booklists/like/hillerman.html

The Book Goddess

3. Farewell, Tony Hillerman « The Book Goddess - October 28, 2008

[…] blogged about Tony Hillerman before.  He is one of my official “Authors You Shouldn’t Miss,” and I hope you […]


Leave a Reply

