jump to navigation

Why I Love Book Clubs July 23, 2007

Posted by bookgoddess in Book Clubs, Books, Librarians, library programs, readers, Reading.
trackback

Have you ever been involved in a book club?  I believe that at one time or another, I have been involved in six.  In fact, a few years ago, I was a member of four at one time, and was the leader of two of them.  Okay, maybe that was excessive!  But if you are a book lover, I really think you should consider a book club.

Let me tell you about my very favorite book club, the Second Saturday Book Club which meets here at the West Palm Beach Public Library.

Sometime around December 1998, the program librarian asked me if I would consider organizing a book club.  I wanted to be helpful, so I said okay and we sent out announcements, but I didn’t think too much of it at the time.  Some nice people showed up and we picked out our first book.  And we kept meeting, and reading more books, and getting to know each other, and then started going out to lunch.

Well, this simply turned out to be one of the very best things that ever happened to me!  First of all, I read things I wouldn’t have ordinarily read – yes, even librarians get in a reading rut.  And I became a much better reader.  But the best thing that happened was that I made some of the most fabulous friends that one could find anywhere!  And more new and wonderful people kept arriving over the years.  (I hope all of you all know how special you are to me.)

I’m a real book lover, and sharing books with other people has really enriched my life.  I can’t guarantee that your book club will be successful, but I can assure you that it’s worth a try.

 Let me know what you think!

Fondly,

 The Book Goddess

Comments»

1. bibliomom - July 28, 2007

Recently I’ve been doing a “book club” by correspondence. A friend and I will decided on a book to read. Sometimes more than one friend. Then we discuss it in email or shelfari or if I’m really lucky over dinner. I have a couple of friends that I do this with and I enjoy it because it gives me the opportunity to be in a book club without the need to leave my daughters to do it.

2. bookgoddess - August 6, 2007

I think any way that you can share books is wonderful. Sometimes people may not have time for a traditional book club. When your daughters are ready, maybe you can think about a mother-daughter book club. There are such fabulous books now for children and youth that I guarantee you can find something that you all can enjoy.

3. lisamm - October 18, 2007

I have a real-life book club that I just love, for all the reasons you’ve stated here! It has become so important to me over the last year. There are 12 of us who are completely committed to it and are having a great time getting to know each other better and sharing our love of books. Great fun!
http://www.lisamm.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

