jump to navigation

Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez July 13, 2007

Posted by bookgoddess in Authors, Books, Fiction, library programs, Literature, Reading.
trackback

05/11/2007
I just finished this book yesterday – and I’ll be leading the discussion on it at the Second Saturday Book Club tomorrow.

As you may know, Gabriel Garcia Marquez is a renowned Latin American author and the recipient of the Nobel Prize for Literature.

The writing style is very rich in the evocation of a time and place – even if one is not exactly sure where that place is. I don’t claim that it’s an easy read, but I’m certainly glad I read it. It helped that I had two days in a row off from work to concentrate on it, because it deserved my full attention.

The characters, including some of the fairly minor ones, are lavish creations. And the way that the characters work out their destinies causes the reader to ask questions about how life should be lived, and what is the nature of love, and what do we owe our fellow human beings.

The world and the people of Love in the Time of Cholera will be with me for a long time.

Tina Maura Albee
The Book Goddess

Comments»

1. Cliff Burns - July 13, 2007

I’m a big fan of this book too, though I haven’t read it in some time. I seem to recall a scene that takes place after a mass burial following an epidemic. Blood oozing up from the ground because victims were thrown in a pit and hastily interred. Positively chilling, especially in the context of such a gorgeously written novel…

2. bibliomom - August 6, 2007

Love in the Time of Cholera is my favorite book of all time. My one caution is to make sure to get a good translation of the book in order to get all of the beauty that is in it. I find this love story to be one of the most touching novels I have ever read.

3. lisamm - December 12, 2007

Sounds interesting. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

